Love in Two Parts

I am in a relationship. It’s exciting and scary to admit that I love him. However, this isn’t a piece about why I love him.

I will admit that I do not have the best track record when it comes to romantic relationships and/or love. So with him, as I am loving him, it has also been this parallel experience of learning about love, about loving him, loving others, and loving myself.

What I’ve learned about love, at least in the role that it plays in my life, is that is a two-part notion. We often discuss love as this feeling, this emotion. But in my relationship, I am learning that love is also a decision.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.1 Corinthians 13:4-7

But love isn’t just patient. It is the decision to be patient; the decision to be kind. I love him. I also make the decision to love him. Because it is a decision that I have made I can admit that it isn’t always easy, but I’m learning that it isn’t supposed to be. In loving him, I’m learning how to love myself better. It’s funny how life turns out.

Through my experience of love, I’ve learned that I view love as a two-part notion of emotion and decision. With this I’ve learned to love both my partner and myself better. What’s your love story?

Leave a Reply

